fairy garden · garden · how to · kids

Fairy Fence

 

20160522_160203
A little while back I collected some white birch bark from logs we had in the backyard both from fallen trees and from trees my husband had cleared away last summer. It was easy enough to peel the bark off of the logs with my hands, no tools necessary.  I had been holding onto it for use in the fairy garden but I wasn’t sure what marvelous idea I was going to use it on just yet. It was driving my husband nuts sitting in the garage so I decided I better get to it!

I started the fence off by cutting what flat pieces I could from the bark into 2 1/4 in strip rectangular pieces. I then cut those into tiny strips 3/8 in wide (so they were now 2 1/4″ by 3/8″) and cut angles into the tips of each piece to form the top of the picket. For each section of fence I had 10 pickets, each 2 1/4″ by 3/8″. I also cut two 20″ pieces of floral wire and folded it in half.

Starting at the top of one picket about a 1/2 inch from the top I placed the picket between the first folded wire, then brought the wire together, twisted it together, laid down another bark picket between the wire, and repeated the process until the tops of ten bark pickets were caught in the floral wire. At the end of the ten pickets I continued to twist the wire together for 1 1/4 inches and folded it down stright towards where I was going to start the bottom wire.

With the second wire folded in half I caught one of the first wires to secure it down then finished twisting the first wire together to the end past the bottom of the fence to its end so that I could use the twisted wire to secure the fence to the ground. I then began laying down and twisting the second wire about a 1/2 inch from the bottom of the birch pickets in the same manner as I did for the top, only in the opposite direction. When I came to the end I twisted the wires together and bent towards the ground. I ended up with a length of twisted wire at the bottom of both sides of the fence that I could use to secure the fence into the ground.

Moldiv_1463947231060

The boys are very excited to see work being done to the fairy garden. I guess I am going to have to get a move on if I want it looking somewhat fairy livable this summer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

